Johannes Brahms: Schick­sal­slied op. 54 Josef Gabriel Rhein­berg­er: Requiem in B flat minor

MUSICAL DIRECTOR David Schollmey­er
SOPRAN Wiltrud de Vries
ALT Annette Gut­jahr
TENOR Bern­hard Schef­fel
BASS Allan Parkes
CHOIR Bach Choir Bre­mer­haven
ORCHESTRA Phil­har­mon­ic Orches­tra Bre­mer­haven

The Schick­sal­slied op. 54 is one of Johannes Brahms’ most pro­found com­po­si­tions. The ora­to­rio work, which was com­posed short­ly after the Ger­man Requiem and pre­miered in 1871, is based on Friedrich Hölderlin’s three-stan­za poem Hyperion’s Schick­sal­slied. Can­tor David Schollmey­er and his Bach Choir will also ded­i­cate them­selves to Josef Gabriel Rheinberger’s Requiem in B flat minor, com­posed a year before the Schick­sal­slied. The Liecht­en­stein artist, who was one of the most suc­cess­ful com­posers of organ and church music dur­ing his life­time, cre­at­ed two oth­er Requiem set­tings in addi­tion to this one.